In this blog post, we discuss who can eat date sugar, and we highlight some diets and ways of eating that date sugar works great with.
According to the Boston Medical Center, an estimated 45 million Americans go on a diet each year, and manufacturing.net reports that 6 in 10 Americans have a food restriction. The most common food restriction in America is sugar/salt. Many people also have religious restrictions on what food is good for them. Typically, Muslims search for halal food, while Jews eat kosher. So, who can enjoy date sugar?
Most brands of date sugar, including PurDate, make their sugar 100% from dried dates. Since whole fruit is the only ingredient, date sugar is vegetarian.
Date sugar does not contain any animal products. Furthermore, date sugar is not tested on animals and does not use animal byproducts; it is 100% vegan friendly.
While date sugar is more suitable for keto than white sugar due to its fiber and lower net carbs, it is higher in carbs than other sweeteners and not the ideal sugar substitute for the keto diet.
However, if you enjoy using date sugar for its many health benefits, you can continue to use it in moderation on a keto diet.
Date sugar is completely gluten free!
There is no dairy in date sugar. Date sugar is safe for those with milk allergies.
(Some of this information is fairly obvious, but we want to do our best to answer every question about diets and date sugar :) )
There are no common food allergens in date sugar.
Date sugar is halal. In fact, During Ramadan many Muslims break their fast with dates.
Date sugar that is made from whole dates is kosher.
Is there another dietary requirement or food restriction you would like to know about? Ask about it in the comments :)
Ready to get started cooking with date sugar? We have a collection of recipes labeled by which dietary requirements they meet.
Don't know how to cook with date sugar? We have the ultimate guide.
Comments will be approved before showing up.